• About Me




    Lily@Melbourne, Australia

    Login

  • Follow 静水深流 || Still waters run deep on WordPress.com
  • Archives

Thermomix

英文部分节选自周六报纸的一篇文章,大意就是这厨房万能机(Thermomix)的最主要功能不是做饭而是给别人看的。这种观点并不新颖,甚至可算是陈词滥调了。在我很小的时候,爸爸就说过德国人的厨房像实验室,量杯电器林林总总。接下来我想你们都能猜得到,能把饭烧隔生(那时电饭煲尚未普及,又是一个厨房好帮手)的爸爸不以为然的说烧菜是创意是艺术不是科学;然而和表姐扮家家时,搅蛋器是最受欢迎的玩具,比起在现实生活中大人只用两根瘦骨棱棱的筷子打蛋,我们一致觉得这长的如电灯泡一棱棱的才又新鲜又洋气。陶醉于依靠一把菜刀一块砧板烧出一桌菜的背后,也许还隐含着自卑情节,在别人眼里毫无意义的东西里寻找争取优越感。

有些厨房工具真的物有所值。譬如粉碎器,做馄饨馅,做水果奶昔,一眨眼的功夫,收拾也不难,能进洗碗机。煮蛋器对我而言也是必需品,当然蒸一锅水也能完成任务,但需要照看火候把握也不易。

我觉得作者根本没有必要去质疑万能机的“聪明”,而是应该把重点放在为什么现在公司常常把产品和生活态度甚至人格高低连在一起。说得严重一点,这个现象和用肤色种族口音来评价一个人异曲同工。

下图是来自这期的心理学月刊,对一个29岁的人来说,成熟的标志是知道自己要什么不会随波逐流。参照此标准,估计很多人都是彼得潘。

心智成熟的标准

心智成熟的标准

Thermie fembots shaken, but not stirred

author: Susie O’brien

It’s still a lot of money, but I wouldn’t be just buying a machine — I’d be buying myself a new life and a new identity.

You don’t own a Thermomix, you see, you have a relationship with one.

“I dared myself to fall in love with my Thermomix this month,” wrote one Thermie online.

“Our relationship has been strained. We’re not at the stage where we’re going to break up, but we have had some extended time apart and it’s not healthy for either of us”.

Women who buy the machines become Thermominxes, devote their life to Thermomastery and achieve a state of Thermobliss. Or at least, that’s the official story.

And when they break down, they talk of their “pain” and “betrayal”.

Not since KitchenAid released its famous mixer in pistachio has any one household item created so much jockeying for position on the social status ladder. There sure is a scary cult-like mentality that this machine seems to engender.

Indeed, some brainwashed fembots talk about the machine as if it’s a real person: “It’s smart and has brought new excitement into my day!” said one.

They even have their own vocabulary; talking about getting “Thermofunky,” getting caught up in the “Thermomoment” and having a “Thermofail”.

Buy a Thermomix and you, too, can use terms like this in everyday speech. It’s a great way to lose your non-Thermie friends.

Consider, if you will, all the features of the Thermomix. It’s often praised for doing the most basic of tasks such having scales that reset to zero. But so can my digital scales that cost me $50. It stops cooking once the timer is off, but so does my 1990s-era microwave. It’s got a steamer that sits on top, but so does my double-boiler saucepan set. It cooks, stirs, processes, steams and chops. So can I with a knife, breadboard and a saucepan.

In any case, I am scared to have a kitchen appliance smarter than me.

Machines like Thermomixes often don’t end up saving time, and at $2000 a pop, they certainly don’t save money. They just end up being another status symbol we can’t really afford that we buy to impress others.

I really do love the idea of being a Thermie, but in the end I am happy just being me.

发表评论

